Twenty4/20four/24

The following takes place between 12:00 AM and 11:59 PM.

Events occur and unfold in real time.

You’d think that I’m on the road of hysteria from the title, by mixing words and numerals to convey something. Well, I’m allaying your fears for a couple of reasons….

IT’S MY BIRTHDAY…MY 24TH BIRTHDAY!

24 happens to be my favorite number, and adding to the conundrum…the name of one of my favourite/favorite (I’m being both British and American with words) TV series. How coincidental that the show finished with a swan song and I just turned 24. I always loved the real-time nature of the show, almost describes my life every step that I’ve taken – exclude the 7+ hours of sleep that I get, you wind up with a shorter season that gets the adrenaline pumping. The end of one is the beginning of another.

24…the number of hours for each day of the year we: live, work (of any kind), interact, and sleep.

Each passing hour becomes a memory ingrained into our very own subconsciousness. WE may remember only the gist of it as things around us whiz by in the blink of an eye. We only see the details when we take steps back and pace the world at our own convenience – a subliminal trip down a day’s memory lane. Every year, I see more of the world that people in power blind you. They wouldn’t want you to see the truth of things that you would want to question (After seeing Food Inc., it has reaffirmed the views I’ve had for atleast 7 years regarding the food industry).

We live in a world where almost everything we do or see is wrong. What can we do? If turning 24 at a time like this is an indication, then I’ll do whatever I can to bring change. Universities will give you their fancy rhetoric on the day that culminates all the struggles you’ve endured to that very moment. It may be all talk, but we need to take the self-initiative to go out there and make a difference. Forget about all the opulence that people have been basking in. Let’s just try to do something different to appreciate the people or acts that make our “simple-and-yet-very-complex” lives that much more meaningful.

Now I’ve got to go and amass plenty of replies to the well-wishes I’ms til receiving on Facebook.

P.S: President Barack Obama is speaking at Carnegie Mellon Pittsburgh – guess today is quite a special day!

*Clock is ticking and counting down a la 24-style*

Leave a Reply

